James Michael Brown Band


If music is the soundtrack of life, this music reflects the best of those days.

James Michael Brown and his band want you to lose yourself in their music. The James Michael Brown band is a Top 40 band playing a mix of originals and covers with a sound that is a blend of blue-eyed soul, classic R&B and beach music. Their music will make you dance and you’ll find yourself singing along in the very first listen.

James Michael Brown started his career in 1966 playing with the Excels.  He then went on to play in several well-known regional bands most notably Sugar Creek, The Catalinas, Clifford Curry as well as The Entertainers (2014 C.B.M.A. Group Of The Year).  In addition to bands that he had played with, James Michael also performed on stage with legends like Ben E. King, The Drifters, Bj Thomas and Bruce Springsteen.

Not long after he began collaborating with R&B producer Rodney Shelton, the James Michael Band was formed and went into the studio to record the first set of songs.  

We wanted songs that would have a familiar sound yet be something original and new,” states James Michael.

In summer of 2016, their first EP “Ready For Love” was released.  It includes the original songs “Ready For Love” and the beach music single “Pretty Girl” as well as a cover of the Beatles song “Don’t Let Me Down”.  The songs are a combination of beach music and the radio friendly sounds of the 70’s.

The title track “Ready For Love” is an original song reminiscent of bands like Shalamar and Average White Band.  While another original “Pretty Girl” is poised to be a beach music staple.  The bonus track on the EP is a cover of The Beatles song “Don’t Let Me Down”.  The James Michael Brown Band’s take on this classic brings more of a southern feel that calls to mind the sound of band’s like The Eagles.

The guest musician credits on the project are a veritable who’s who of the music world.  Producer, co-writer and keyboardist/band leader Rodney Shelton (credits – James Brown, CeCe Penniston, Stephanie Mills), bassist John Dillard (Stephanie Mills, Anthony Hamilton), guitarist Joe Lindsay (KC & JoJo, LaToya Jackson), drummer Rahshard Jerkins (Anthony Hamilton, KC & JoJo), guitarist Pat Walters (Spongetones), drummer Chris Allen (Archie Bell, Darius Rucker) percussion legend Jim Brock (Hootie & The Blowfish), bassist Rick Blackwell (Janice Ian), background vocalist Terrell Phillips (Blackstreet, Janet Jackson) and background vocalist Brad Hudson.

While the James Michael Band currently spends most of their time in the studio writing, arranging, and recording their songs, plans are in the works for the band to begin live performances in the future.

The project is available digitally on iTunes, Spotify, and Amazon.